duval dems grey
banner website

Party Leaders

About us

Whether you are a longtime member, a new member, or just want to get more involved, the Democratic Executive Committee (DEC) is an organization that will allow you to play an important role in building the Democratic Party in Duval County.

The DEC helps people by electing Democrats!

The DEC is the governing body of the Democratic Party in Duval County. Its purpose is to build a strong Democratic Party in our County, for the purpose of electing Democratic candidates to offices at all levels. 

Who We Are

The Duval County Democratic Party is the official Democratic Executive Committee within Duval County responsible for handling Florida Democratic Party affairs within the county.  We proudly represent over 250,000 registered Democrats within Duval County.

Who We Serve

Democrats are the party of inclusion. We know that diversity is not our problem—it is our promise. As Democrats, we respect differences of perspective and belief and pledge to work together to move this country forward, even when we disagree. We do not merely seek common ground—we strive to reach higher ground.

What We Do

The Duval County Democratic Party elects leaders who fight for equality, justice, and opportunity for all. We are working around the clock to build a strong Democratic Party capable of lifting Democrats all across the county to victory in 2022, and beyond. Each victory will take all of us – candidates, supporters, and the DEC – working together.

Our History

For more than 200 years, our party has led the fight for civil rights, health care, Social Security, workers’ rights, and women’s rights. We are the party of Joe Biden, Barack Obama, John F. Kennedy, FDR, and the countless everyday Americans who work each day to build a more perfect union. Take a look at some of our accomplishments, and you’ll see why we’re proud to be Democrats.

Our Mission

To ensure an effective government that supports projects, and provides an opportunity for the citizens of North Florida by advancing candidates, public officials, and policies that promote Democratic values.

Our Vision

An open, inclusive organization that Democrats are proud to support, that positively impacts our community and promotes opportunity for all by winning elections.

Bylaws & Governing Policies


The DEC is managed by its members and through its elected leaders. Every two years, immediately following the U.S. Presidential Election and Gubernatorial Election, the DEC elects its officers at its organizational meeting: a Chair, a First Vice Chair (who is of the opposite sex as the Chair), a State Committeewoman, a State Committeeman, a Secretary, and a Treasurer.

Duval Dems Chair:

Daniel Henry

First Vice Chair:

Dr. Jennifer Cowart

patrica p


Patricia Presley


Hanna Moore

State Committewoman:

Linae Parkinson

State Committeeman:

Larry Snider

russell harper


Russell Harper

4af38ba9 943d 4b9a 9e30 b14e0fb9942f fl jax 100819 stjamescityh

Our Elected Officials

Our Democratic elected officials advocate for Democratic values and policies. From the White House, Congress, State Legislature, and City Council, Duval Dems are represented at every level of government.


Standing Committees are established to further the goals and policies of the DEC and Florida Democratic Party. Each Committee is lead by a Chair that is appointed by the DEC Chair.



Hanna Moore



Bylaws & Rules:

Russell Harper




Jennifer Cowart




Nekinia Wright, Palmer Ferguson




Velma Rounsville



Democratic Organizations:

Jessica Ransome




Mirjam Parkinson, Ingrid Montgomery



Legislative Affairs:




District Chairs are the lead Precinct Committee Person (PCP) of their respective council district. They play a pivotal role in motivating, assisting, and supporting PCPs within their districts in voter registration, vote-by-mail sign-ups, and community engagement. District Chairs are elected amongst their fellow PCPs every two years.

Council District 1:

Deborah Brill


Council District 2:




Council District 3:




Council District 4:

Cole Gabriel



Council District 5:

Buddy Delegal



Council District 6:

Mirjam Parkinson



Council District 7:

Ingrid Montgomery



Council District 8:

Patrice Dukes



Council District 9:

Sam Coodley



Council District 10:

Gil Bush



Council District 11:

Nekinia Wright



Council District 12:

Ethan Tejedor



Council District 13:

Michael Finn



Council District 14:

Heather Dixon, Doug Henning