Standing Committees

Much of the work of our DEC is accomplished through standing and special committees, each charged with specific responsibilities. Working towards the common goal of putting forward Democrat values and getting Democrats elected. Please see the list of committees below. Note that additional committees will be added in the future.

Central Committee

Areas of Responsibility: Functions as the DEC’s board of directors.

Chair: Lisa King (

Members: Darren Mason, Daniel Henry, Joe Johnson, John Parker, Lisa King, Alison Morano, Catherine Pierce, Sharon Sweet, Ramon Day, Pam Joyner, Patrice Dukes, James Eddy, Paula Wright, Howard Carter III, James Morton, Abigayil Yisrael, Ciera Smith, Charles Kohn Jr., Elaine Burnett

Credentials Committee

Area of Responsibility: Verifying credentials of candidates for DEC membership and for maintaining permanent membership records.  Additionally, the Membership Committee determines how many members (or their proxies) were present at each DEC meeting.

Chair: Velma Roundsville (

Members: Kim Glasgal, Matt Killen, Pam Joyner, Marcel Bessman

Campaign Committee

Area of Responsibility: Creates a campaign plan, including a description of the processes and procedures necessary for the DCDEC to implement the plan.

Chair: Billee Bussard (

Members: Mimi Dinh, Leanna Pearce, Daniel Henry, Darren Mason, Robert Abene, Ali Samiian, Alison Morano, Abigayil Yisrael, James Eddy, James Poindexter

Budget and Finance Committee

Area of Responsibility: Prepares an annual budget to be presented to the Central Committee.

Chair: Robert Abene (

Members: Joe Johnson, Daniel Henry, Leanna Pearce, Billee Bussard, Darren Mason, Robert Abene, Ali Samiian, Ramon Day

Legislative Affairs Committee

Area of Responsibility: Studies and reports to the DCDEC on all legislation deemed necessary and desirable in the interest of the Democratic Party.

Chair: Ramon Day (

Members: Ramon Day, Darren Mason, John Parker, Daniel Henry

Rules & Bylaws Committee

Area of Responsibility: Recommending changes to the bylaws to make the DEC operate in a more effective manner.

Chair/Parliamentarian: Alison Morano (

Members: Russell Harper, Cecilia Zucconi, Haleigh Hutchison, Mario Decunto, Luella McQueen, James Eddy, Travis Bridges, Steve Haeter, Antonia Bryant, Ramon Day

(link to bylaws)

Democratic Organization Committee

Area of Responsibility: Organize and sustain Democratic clubs, organizations, and caucuses provided for in Article VI of the FDP Bylaws as amended.


Chair: Phillip Miner (

Members: Darren Mason, Philip Miner, Ali Samiian

Ex-Officio: Lisa King, John Parker

Affirmative Action Committee

Area of Responsibility: Works in conjunction with the Florida Democratic Party Affirmative Action Committee to further goals and policies of the Florida Democratic Party.

Interested in joining a committee, email your selection to: